NBA Players with Most MVPs

Out of the all the players that have won the MVP, all but one of them are on the NBA’s 75th Anniversary team. Here are the top five players in the history of the league have won multiple MVPs. Let’s take a look at the players with with the most MVPs in NBA history.

1. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar – 6 (1971, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1977, 1980)

Legends profile: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar |

One of the most-frustrating things about all this talk about Mount Rushmores and best players of all-time discussion is that Kareem Abdul-Jabbar often gets overlooked. Abdul-Jabber won six NBA MVPs; 3 MVPs with the Milwaukee Bucks and another 3 with the Los Angeles Lakers. KAJ was a force to be reckoned with. Not only did he put the ball in the basket, but he was a winner; winning six NBA championships in his career. And even though today’s game has significantly shifted away from post play, he is still the league’s all-time leading scorer with his patented skyhook that was simply unstoppable.

2. Bill Russell – 5 (1958, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1965)

Bill Russell was the first player to ever win 3 MVPs in a row. His Boston Celtics dominated the NBA from the mid-50s till the end of the 60s, winning 11 championships. He also currently holds the record for most championships won by any player with 11 rings to his name.

 3. Michael Jordan – 5 (1988, 1991, 1992, 1996, 1998)

Why did Michael Jordan switch his jersey number from 23 to 45 when he returned to the Bulls? | Sporting News

Michael Jordan is tied with Bill Russel with 5 MVPs. This should come as no surprise to anyone. Jordan is considered to be the GOAT, and his Chicago bulls dominated the 90s era of basketball with 2 3-peats. Jordan won his 1st MVP in just his 4th season in the NBA, averaging 35 points, 5.9 assists, 5.5 rebounds, and 3.2 steals per game according to NBC sports.

4. Wilt Chamberlain – 4 (1960, 1966, 1967, 1968)

Noting all of Wilt Chamberlain’s insane scoring accomplishments, you might think he may have more than four NBA MVPs. Four, however,  is nothing to sneeze at as Chamberlain was the second player after Bill Russell to win the MVP three times in a row  In fact, he would have had a couple more MVPs under his belt (not to mention more than two NBA titles) if it weren’t for Russell who had a near-monopoly on winning even in seasons where Chamberlain averaged 50.4 points and 44.8 points.

5. Lebron James – 4 (2009, 2010, 2012, 2013)

Tied with Chamberlain with four MVPs to his name, Lebron James caps off our top five list of players with the most MVPs in NBA history. Even though Lebron has only four MVPs, it can be argued that he deserved to win it a couple more times, especially after leading the Miami Heat, Cleveland Cavaliers and Los Angeles Lakers for a total of four NBA championships.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top